top of page

31st SP Sports Awards was a success

The 31 st SP Sports Awards was held in Crown Hotel over the weekend (May 27 th , 2023) at Downtown, Port Moresby.

SP Sports Awards was established in 1992. The event on the weekend marked its 31 st Anniversary.

SP Sports Awards was purposely founded to recognize the achievements and contributions of PNG’s

sports athletes and sports teams, including sporting officials and delegates.

The annual event saw hundreds of former and current athletes, teams, officials, delegates, sponsors,

business houses, stakeholders, and distinguished guests graced the occasion.

It was a fun-filled and wonderful event. Everyone (attendees) had a good time. The event was a


The Winners of the 2023 SP Sports Awards in their respective categories are as follows:

* Stan Joyce Award – Digicel PNG

* People’s Choice Award – Alwin Komolong

* Male Athlete of the Year – Morea Baru

* Female Athlete of the Year – Violet Apisah

* Team of the Year – PNG Lewas

* National Performance of the Year – Morobe Hammerheads

* Community Sports Initiative Award of the Year – Santos Love Cricket Program

* Junior Male Athlete of the Year – John Kariko Jnr

* Junior Female Athlete of the Year – Idau Vagi

* Best Sports Person with a Disability – Dorna Longbut

* Sports Official of the Year – Barbara Stubbings

* Sports Photo of the Year – Fidelis Wasari

* Sports Media of the Year – Patricia Keamo

The winners of each category have earned their accolades. They deserved it. Their hard work,

dedication, commitment, discipline, consistency, and perseverance throughout the year has paid off in spades.

The SP Sports Awards will continue to recognize PNG’s sports athletes, sports teams, sporting

officials and delegates next year and into the future.

19 views0 comments


bottom of page