top of page

Pirates Storm Chiefs to claim Super 7s Cup

Updated: Apr 29

The Kimbe Pirates stormed the Southern Chiefs on Sunday, December 3, 2023, winning a close game of 19-17 to claim the Kumul Petroleum Holdings Limited (KPHL) 4th Leg Super 7s Series Cup at the Sir Hubert Murray Stadium (SHMS) in Port Moresby.

As debutants of the Bilas Peles 7s tournament and reigning champions, the Kimbe Pirates have carried their winning streak from the New Guinea Islands region to the Nation's Capital, securing the Super 7s Series title.

Throughout the three-day championship, the Pirates won all their matches against their opponents in their respective pool, earning them a spot in the cup finals. The Chiefs, their grand finalist opposing team, had a similar record.

In the semi-finals, the Pirates faced East New Britain-East West Loyal, a team they had previously defeated to claim the Bilas Peles 7s Cup in November at Konos Oval in Central New Ireland, New Ireland Province.

The Kimbe boys were successful due to the experience of players like Digicel Cup skipper Dominic Anis Jr and current PNG Pukpuks forward Dickson Morrison. These seasoned players, along with others, showcased their skills in a well-coordinated display of rugby 7s at SHMS over the weekend.

Before the 4th Leg of the Super 7 series, team captain Dominic Anis Jr. expressed their preparedness for the tournament. Their preparations paid off as they emerged victorious, bagging the 2023 Super 7s Series title.

When commenting on their performance, PNG Rugby Union CEO Druma Sailosi commended the Pirates for their excellent game during the tournament.

"They played very well. The whole team, from 1 to 7, are talented players. Some of them are representative players in the Digicel Cup. Coming together as a team, they performed admirably," said Sailosi.

In the women's division cup final, the Chiefs defeated Bialla Lasima with a score of 38-0 and won the championship.

The men's bowl final saw Valley Hunters beat Underdogs 17-12, while Juggernauts claimed the bowl in the women's division, edging the Blazers 15-10 in the final playoff.

Regarding the name that Kimbe Pirates uses, skipper Anis explained that 15 City Roosters is their club's name. In the local league, they go by 15 City Roosters, but during outside tournaments, they use the name Kimbe Pirates.

Meanwhile, the Pirates are now in Lae to compete in the inaugural Morobe Kandes Rugby League 9s. They will return to Port Moresby for the Rookie 7s, which will be held on 15th-17th December.

Photo Credit: 360 Image

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page