top of page

Barras crowned Tri-Nation Cup Champions

Kumul Petroleum Barramundis was crowned the 2023 Malaysia T20 Men’s Tri-Nations Cup Champions after winning all four matches in the one-week cricket tourney in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The countries that competed with Papua New Guinea were Hong Kong and the host nation, Malaysia.

After opening the 2023 Malaysia T20 Men’s Tri-Nations Cup series with a first win against Malaysia on 20th September with 45 runs, the Barras went on to maintain their winning streak until they finished it off on a victorious note yesterday (24th September 2023) in taking away the cup.

In their second tourney match on Thursday, 21st September, PNG won Hong Kong by 23 runs. During their second competition, the instrumental bowlers were CJ Amini, Nosaina Pokana, and John Kariko.

On the 24th of September, during their third match, they played Malaysia again. Even though the host nation batted first and completed their innings, PNG came out triumphant by four wickets. The performing batters were Lega Siaka and Norman Vanua.

Through their solid and consistent performances throughout the tourney, they won the last match against Hong Kong, claiming the Tri-Nation Cup Championship.

Photo Credit: Cricket PNG

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page