top of page

2023 Pacific Championships announced

The 2023 Pacific Championships has officially been announced by the International Rugby League

Commission today. The schedules and dates of the games have been released on both print media and social media.

The 2023 Pacific Championships will see seven countries competing from October to November. The 7 teams are Australia, New Zealand, Tonga, Samoa, PNG, Fiji, and Cook Islands.

The 7 teams have been grouped into two pools. Both men's and women's teams will participate in the upcoming tournament.

Australia, New Zealand, Tonga, and Samoa were grouped into Pool A, while PNG, Fiji, and Cook

Islands were categorized into Group B.

Three countries have been picked to host the tourney – namely Australia, New Zealand, and PNG.

While Australia, New Zealand, Tonga, and Samoa will battle it out in Australia and New Zealand

respectively, PNG will host Fiji and Cook Islands in Port Moresby.

The intention of introducing this new concept is to grow the international rugby league and give

prominence and exposure to the players.

Selections of the players will be made and announced next month. The upcoming tournament

should be exciting and interesting to watch, especially for the mad rugby league fans.

Photo Credit: NRL

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page